Sunday, November 1, 2020

Dec 1st, 2020: Première of "Snow Melting from Spruce" webcast from Texas

 No Time For Silence Concert No. 2

Premiere: December 1, 2020 

Chad Robinson, Texas New Music Ensemble Artistic Director 

Yan Shen, Piano 


"Undaunted" by Joshua Zinn 

"Limitless: Out of the Dusk" by Daniel Adams 

"Snow Melting from Spruce" by Marty Regan

Texas New Music Ensemble announces a year long collaboration with pianist Yan Shen, commissioning 12 new works for solo piano from Texas composers to be premiered virtually in 4 video installments with two in the Fall and two in the Spring. These works will serve as pieces recognizing that the arts can be many things: a way to grieve, a way to heal, and a way to progress. TNME recognizes that this is the time that artists go to work, subsiding despair but instead lending a voice to change. No room for silence, no room for fear. We speak, we write, we compose. That is how civilizations heal.