Thursday, May 14, 2015

May 14th, 2015: Aperio and Apollo play Marty Regan at the Asia Society in Texas

[retrospective entry by webmaster]


videos of Marty's pieces from the concert :-


In partnership with APERIO and Apollo Chamber Players, Asia Society Texas Center presents Silences, a unique concert featuring new and recent music by composer Marty Regan.
Regan—whose opera The Memory Stone premiered at the Texas Center in 2013—portrays a profound admiration and understanding of Japanese music, poetry, and culture, bridging a gap between ancient musical traditions and new compositional methods. He is widely recognized for his intimate understanding of Eastern musical aesthetics and specializes in composing contemporary music for traditional Asian instruments.
This program features the world premiere of Silences, a new work commissioned by APERIO which showcases the poetry of Tanikawa Shuntarō. It features Japanese coloratura soprano Yuri Maria Saenz, supported by an ensemble of traditional and modern instruments including koto, shamisen, shakuhachi, cello, piano, and percussion. Works for diverse instrumental combinations include fastpass!In Remembrance, and Frolicking with the Birds. Guest ensemble Apollo Chamber Players will perform Splash of Indigo, which they premiered earlier in 2015.


Whitney Bullock, viola
Matt Detrick, violin
Matt Dudzik, cello
Craig Hauschildt, percussion
Yoko Reikano Kimura, koto and shamisen
Anabel Ramirez, violin
Marty Regan, shakuhachi
Daniel Saenz, cello
Yuri Maria Saenz, soprano
Michael Zuraw, piano